Cwm-yr-Eglwys is a small hamlet, located to the south-east of Dinas Head in North Pembrokeshire. It is recognisable for its ruined church, which lies just above the beach in this small cove. The beach has earned a Seaside Award and a Green Coast Award (similar to the Blue Flag Award but for rural beaches), and has safe swimming, which make it a popular haven in the summer months. There is a narrow slipway for launching small boats, or in our case for collecting seawater. Sheltered from prevailing winds, Cwm-yr-Eglwys has its own microclimate, often being a few degrees warmer, and drier, than other parts of the Pembrokeshire coast. This wasn’t the case today though, as you can see!
Cwm-yr-Eglwys is our nearest beach, and its award-winning coastline and microclimate make it a perfect seawater collection point, for our salt. The iconic image of St Brynach’s Church forms our logo, which has been modernised recently for our rebranding exercise.
The church of St Brynach suffered storm damage in 1850 and 1851 when the chancel was destroyed and the graveyard severely damaged by the sea. It was the great storm of October 1859, known as the Royal Charter Storm that wreaked havoc however, removing the church roof and damaging its walls. The church was abandoned immediately, and left in ruins until 1880 when the walls were demolished, leaving only western end that can be seen today; a new sea wall built to protect what was left of the graveyard. Another storm in 1979 caused damage to the sea wall but caused no further damage to the church or graveyard.